HOLDERS Paignton 3 rd XI have been drawn away to Abbotskerswell 2 nd XI in the first round of next season's Brockman Cup competition.

   Beaten finalists Brixham have to go into a preliminary round, where they have to play-off against Torquay 3 rd XI.

   Competition organisers have been forced to organise a preliminary round to accommodate the return of two old faces to the competition.

   Lustleigh, who set a record of six successive cup final wins between 1996-2001, pulled out after the 2004 competition due to difficulties fielding an eligible team because to their status in the Francis Clark Devon League.

   Now Lustleigh have pulled out of the Devon League their problems meeting eligibility rules have eased. They are at home to Cockington in the first round.

   Barton 3 rd XI last took part in 2005. They pulled out because they didn't have a recognised 3 rd XI the following season. They return to the Brockman fold with a home game against Bovey Tracey.

   The full draw for the preliminary, first and second rounds is:

   Preliminary Round (May 5): Brixham v Torquay.

   First Round (May 12): Stoke Gabriel v Kingskerswell, Babbacombe v Ipplepen, Shaldon v Brixham or Torquay, Dartington & Totnes v Stokeinteignhead.

   (May 19): South Devon v Chelston, Barton v Bovey Tracey, Lustleigh v Cockington, Abbotskerswell v Paignton.

   Second Round (May 26): South Devon or Chelston v Dartington & Totnes v Stokeinteignhead, Abbotskerswell orv Paignton v Stoke Gabriel or Kingskerswell.

   (June 2): Babbacombe or Ipplepen v Shaldon or Brixham or Torquay, Barton or Bovey Tracey v Lustleigh or Cockington.

   Semi-finals: Friday, June 12 & Monday, June 15. Reserve date Friday, June 19. Final: Friday, June 26; reserve date Friday, July 3. Semi-finals and final at Torquay CC.







all content © Devon Cricket Board