Pens installed as new B Division leaders

SHOBROOKE Park were knocked off the top of the table by a 76-run defeat at the hands of Ipplepen.

Ipplepen are the new leaders in the division, but with only 12 points between the top four that could change very quickly – especially as Shobrooke (3rd) play Plymstock (2nd) this Saturday.

Pens’ players were held up en-route to the game, which meant Steve Bowden was pressed into service to open in the absence of Jack Lewis.

Lewis, who made a ton against Braunton the previous week, ended up going in at nine!

Bowden (37) and Dave Harris got Pens off to a 41-run start and at halfway Pens were 81 for two.

Fifteen overs out the fireworks really started.

Joe Abbott (68) and Ash Harvey (78) added 112 as the bowling was flogged to all parts.

Harvey blasted his runs off 39 balls with eight fours and four sixes. Shobrooke bowling figures were ruined by the onslaught, which continued with Sam Wakeham hitting 17 off five balls as Pens reached 269 for eight.

Shobrooke lost Jon James early in their reply, but Chris Simpson (55) and Dylan Blignaut (31) batted aggressively as Pens’ bowlers struggled to find line or length.

Abbott was the exception and got Blignaut out with the last ball of is spell which altered the course of the game.

Harvey rounded off a good day with the all-important wicket of Simpson, before he Keith Wakeham (2-27) spun 93 for two into 135 for six.

Andrew Codling (41) and Phil Anning (23) resisted, but the writing was on the wall.

Seb Powell (3-21) mopped up the tail with Bowden (2-32) as Shobrooke were all out for 193.

Wakeham said Ipplepen are learning week by week and putting the lessons into practice.

“Belief and refusal to panic led to the turn around, and the team maturity seems to be improving each week,” said Wakeham.

“New-found patience with bat and ball meant a more measured display from the team, showing their early season confidence is returning.”

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2020    |    page edited by:    updated: 15/07/2015   |     login