Staddon named Cornwood's player of the year


Cornwood’s 1st XI player of the year Elliot Staddon (right) collecting his award from club 
chairman Graham Baskerville (centre) and outgoing 1st XI skipper Jason Hall (left)

CORNWOOD celebrated promotion to the Premier Division at their annual awards night.

The Corns beat promotion rivals Brixham on the final day of the season to clinch their return to the top flight at the first attempt.

That and plenty more was celebrated by more than 100 members and friends at the Elfordleigh Hotel – the best turnout for the event for many years.

Chairman Graham Baskerville kicked off the speeches with a passionate account of the season’s highs and lows.

Baskerville also acknowledged the efforts of many volunteers who devote their time to making the club run smoothly.

Among them was long-serving coach Andy Rickard, who recently was honoured for his services to West Devon cricket. 

There was praise for skipper Jason Hall, who has called time on his second stint in the job.

And there was a warm welcome for new captain Elliot Staddon

Ladies captains Emma Gibson and Gemma Lancaster (pictured, left presenting Hollie Grafton with her player of the year award) summarised the performances of their teams before turning the floor over to Hall.

Hall reviewed the entire 2015 season across the club’s four teams and thanked the players for their efforts.

He presented small gifts to scorers Lynne Whitfield and Sarah Skeemer who covered every match in the season.

Award winners: Ladies 2nd XI player - Cathie Beaumont;
 Ladies 1st XI player - Hollie Grafton; Captains’ Award - James Richardson & Ben Griffiths;
 Team of the Year - 1st XI;
Men’s 4th XI player - Daniel Skeemer; 
Men’s 3rd XI Player - James Richardson;
Men’s 2nd XI Player - Andrew Bees; Men’s 1st XI Player - Elliot Staddon; Clubperson of the Year - Nick Goodliffe. 

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2020    |    page edited by:    updated: 16/02/2016   |     login