Brockman Cup - Abbots and Lustleigh through

LUSTLEIGH are through to the last four of the Brockman Cup after a 102-run demolition job on South Devon.

Youngster Jonathan Wright flailed away to make 86, which included seven four and six sixes, as Lustleigh raced to 196 for four in 20 overs.

Along the way Wright shared in a stand of 118 for the second wicket with Steve Wright (43).

The less the better about South Devon’s bowling figures, although there were two wickets each for Richard Beaumont (2-24) and spinner Tom Carne (2-12).

South Devon knew they had to take chances if they were going to get anywhere near the target, which played right into Lustleigh’s hands.

After Matt Blackmore (21) and Paul Hooper (15) made early runs, spinner Mike Brewer (4-19) ripped through the middle order.

Paul Foot then claimed four for 21 to whip out the rest as South Devon were dismissed for 94 with more than seven overs to go.

Through, too, are Abbotskerswell who defeated fancied Kingskerswell by six wickets in a thrilling encounter that went down to the last ball.

Kerswell managed 141 for nine in their 20 overs thanks largely to a 76-run partnership between Steve Waters (35) and Kris Davis (45).  Outstanding bowlers for Abbots were 14 year old Toby Codd (2-16), and Sean Green (3-18), who nipped out Waters. 

Hugo Whitlock (3-24) then returned to dismiss Davis

Abbots blazed away at the start and were quickly 42 for one in only four overs.

The introduction of spinners Davis and Chris Hurrell slowed Abbots and with five overs remaining they still needed 41 runs to win, but with six wickets in hand.

The target came down to nine to win off the last over. An early boundary eased the nerves but and Abbots levelled the scores on the penultimate ball before a sharp single of the last ball won the game even though they would have won on less wickets lost.

Best contributions with the bat for Abbots were Andy Lock with 41, which included three sixes, and Hayden Crocker (32no) and Alex Birt (23).  

BABBACOMBE sprung a shock in the quarter-finals of the Brockman Cup when they beat fancied Ipplepen by eight-wickets.

The Pens, who play four divisions higher than Babbacombe on the Devon League ladder, were rolled over for 74 by Tim Stapleton (4-12), Russell Pym (2-5), Matt Passmore (2-6) and Dave Williams (2-11).

Simon Tapley (24) and Jeff Heath (12) had the only scores of note.

Babbacombe were home and dry with almost three overs to spare, led there by Marcus Tanton (20) and Dave Palmer (17no).

Babbacombe will meet the winners of the delayed game between Stokeinteignhead or Barton in the semi-finals.

The first semi-final, due to be played tomorrow (Friday, 15th) at Torquay Recreation Ground, is between Abbotskerswell and Lustleigh.

Ipplepen 74 (S Tapley 24, J Heath 12; T Stapleton 4-12, R Pym 2-5, M Passmore 2-6, D Williams 2-11), Babbacombe 75-2 (M Tanton 20, D Palmer 17no; S Bowden 1-7). Babbacombe by Ipplepen by 8 wkts

Kingskerswell 141-9 (K Davis 45, S Waters 35; S.Green 3-18, T Codd 2-16), Abbotskerswell 142-4 (A Lock 41, H Crocker 32no, A Birt 23). Abbotskerswell bt Kingskerswell by 6 wkts,

Lustleigh 196-4 (J Wright 86, S Wright 43; T Carne 2-12, R Beaumont 2-24), South Devon 94 (M Blackmore 21; M Brewer 4-19, P Foot 4-21). Lustleigh bt South Devon by 102 runs.

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2019    |    page edited by:    updated: 14/06/2012   |     login