Lustleigh through to Brockman final

LUSTLEIGH are through to the final of the Brockman Cup for the first time in a decade after beating Abbotskerswell by 43 runs in the semis.

Lustleigh won the cup six years running between 1996-2001 before South Devon wrestled it off them.

Jon Wright (22), Mike Wright (22) and Paul Foot (21) were the main contributors to a Lustleigh total of 129 for eight at Torquay Recreation Ground. Noah Tobias was the leading wicket taker for Abbots with three for 22.

Abbots were skittled out for 86 in reply with spinner Mike Brewer taking four for nine.

John Wright claimed two for 25 and there were two wickets for Duncan Manners-Chapman, which must have felt a bit odd for him as he plays for Abbots in the Devon League on Saturday afternoons.

The Brockman Cup has been hard hit by bad weather in recent weeks and organisers are trying to cram the unplayed games in.

Barton and Stokeinteignhead were due to play last night (Wednesday) in a delayed quarter-final.

The winners are due to play Babbacombe 2nd XI at Torquay tomorrow (Friday night) weather permitting.

Lustleigh 129-8 (J Wright 22, M Wright 22,P Foot 21,M Sessions 14; N Tobias 3-22,T Codd 2-20), Abbotskerswell 86 (N Tobias 14,A Birt 13; M Brewer 4-9,J Wright 2-25,D Manners-Chapman 2-30). Lustleigh bt Abbotskerswell by 43 runs.      

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2019    |    page edited by:    updated: 25/06/2012   |     login