Barton scrape through in Brockman Cup
HOLDERS Barton scraped through the first round of this season’s Brockman Cup with the narrowest of wins over South Devon.

South Devon made 105 all out in the last of their 20 overs – and Barton were 105 for six when their time ran out.

Barton went through on fewer wickets lost and will meet either Abbotskerswell or Chelston in the next round.

Ian Shepherd hit a top score of 31 for South Devon, who were 60 for two when he was lbw to Jamie Peters (3-22).

After Neil Matthews (15) and Dave Amery (10) went it was downhill all the way for South Devon who went from 85 for three to 87 for seven as Peters, Pete Gartrell (2-10) and Morgan Harford (3-12) pinned them down.

Barton lost Dale Adderley early, but eased to 60 for two as Peters (25) and Adam Styles (25) worked the ball around.

Three wickets fell as 60 for one became 69 for four, then Gartrell (15) and man of the match Harford (22no) got the target down to six to win off the last over.

Gartrell smacked the first ball for four and that seemed game over, The next three balls were dots and the pressure really mounted when Ian Shepherd bowled Gartrell with the penultimate ball.

That brought Jim Parker out with one ball to go and one run needed to tie, which would be enough as Barton could not lose all 10 wickets.

South Devon skipper Conrad Sutcliffe put nine men around the bat – umpire Roger Tolchard asked for one to be moved as he was a bit too close – but Parker still managed to find a gap and scampered through for a single.

Abbotskerswell squeezed home with one ball to spare against Chelston in their Brockman Cup match,

Tom Andrew hit a match-winning 49 as Abbots knocked off 120 to win with three wickets in hand.

Ipplepen had a happier passage through against Kingskerswell, emerging winners by 32 runs.

Ipplepen 187-3 (S Tapley 63no, T Crocker 56no, L Curtis 24), Kingskerswell 155-5

(P Douglas 69, E Denega 23, E Gregerson 21; L Price 2-35). Ipplepen bt Kerswell by 32 runs

Chelston 119 (B Griffiths 38, I Griffiths 28; P Jelly 3-19, C Robson-Close 2-16, J.Penny 2-28), Abbotskerswell 120-7(T Andrew 49, G Harrison-Roberts 20; B Griffiths 3-16, G Brenton 2-17). Abbotskerswell bt Chelston by 3 wkts.

South Devon 105 (I Shepherd 31, N Matthews 15; M Harford 3-12, J Peters 3-22), Barton 105-6 (J Peters 25, A Styles 25, M Harford 22no, P Gartrell 15; I Shepherd 2-18). Barton won on fewer wickets lost. 

Brixham 160-3 (R Ward 67no, T Hopper 44, M Meech 24), Stoke Gabriel 73-5 (M Parsons 2-13). Brixham bt Stoke Gabriel by 87 runs.

Stokeinteignhead 91(P Russell 20; T Francis 3-1, D Lear 2-23), Torquay 95-6 (C Birks 39no; P Russell 2-12, M Russell 2-22). Torquay bt Stoke by 4 wkts

Paignton 163-4 (C Slough 43, I Selway 35, M Ashworth 29; A Epsley 2-36), Shaldon Optimists 125-5 (S Preston 35, R Boss26, S Bowler 22; C Ashworth 2-14, C Slough 2-33).

Paignton bt Shaldon by 38 runs.

Brixham 160-3 (R Ward 67no, T Hopper 44, M Meech 24), Stoke Gabriel 73-5 (M Parsons 2-13). Brixham bt Stoke Gabriel by 87 runs.


Barton v  Abbotskerswell, Ipplepen v Brixham   (May 28);  

Babbacombe  v  Lustleigh, Paignton v  Torquay (June 4)

The draw for the semi-finals will be made after the Paignton-against -Torquay match.

The first two names out of the hat will play on Friday, June 14

The second semi-final is on Monday, June 17. The reserve date is Friday, June 21.

Both games will take place at Torquay Recreation Ground.

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2019    |    page edited by:    updated: 31/05/2013   |     login