Devon KO Cup first round scores


HOLDERS Bovey Tracey kept a tight grip on the Devon KO Cup as they eased past Exeter by five wickets in the first round of this season’s competition.

Exeter were bowled out for 189 in the last of their 40 overs – veteran left-hander Glenn Lammonby top scoring on 68.

After Miles Lenygon (17) and Rob Holman (29) put on 46 for the first wicket, Lammonby held the innings together under pressure from Chris Bradley (4-29). Alex Bosomworth chipped in with 26 for Exeter.

Bovey Tracey knocked off the runs with 13 balls to spare with skipper Pete Bradley (56) and Ben Ayres both making half centuries.

Zaid Joseph (36) and Ayres (54no) put on 87 for the fifth wicket, leaving Chris Bradley (21no) to make most of the 27 needed to win after Joseph fell to Jon Tipper (3-32).

Waiting in the last eight for Bovey are Heathcoat, who won a low-scoring affair at Cornwood by three wickets.

Matt Hague (4-30) and Lee Dixon (3-25) helped dispatch Cornwood for 126. Duncan Boase made 57 and Matt Kidd added 30, which does not leave a lot from the rest.

Heathcoat had the runs knocked off with 14 overs to go with Peter Randerson (26) supplying the highlights by taking on Cornwood’s Pakistani pacer Aiziz Cheema.

“Pete hit Cheema for 20 in one over in boundaries, which livened things up a bit,” said skipper Liam Lewis.

“Cheema doesn’t like that sort of treatment, but the faster he bowled the harder Pete went after him.”

There were bits and pieces all down the order from Lewis, Chris Small and Jack Menheneott before Andrew Birt Mitchell (19no) wrapped things up.

Sidmouth didn’t hang around at Barton longer than necessary as they completed a routine eight-wicket win.

Barton struggled to 40 for four and were all out for 103 with skipper Adam Parker defying longer than anyone for his 49.

There were three wickets for spinner Matt Cooke and two each for Will Gater, Nick Gingell and Will Murray.

The runs were knocked off with 20 overs to spare on the back of a stand between opener Anthony Griffiths (53no) and Neil Hancock (36no).

Defending league champions Sidmouth were always favourites to beat a side struggling in the next division down to them. However, skipper Murray said it was a better win than it looked.

“Hancock couldn’t bowl and neither could Josh Bess due to injuries, which meant opening up with a spinner (Cooke) and having to fill in a few overs,” said Murray

“To win as emphatically as we did was a good effort under the circumstances.”

Exmouth fell at the first hurdle to Plymouth, who strolled home by seven wickets on the Maer.

Exmouth’s total of 156 all out was constructed around a partnership of 103 for the third wicket between Richard Baggs (59) and Barney Huxtable (57).

Dave Burke (2-29) removed openers Dave Lye and Anthony Radunovich for 18 between them, leaving Baggs and Huxtable to shoulder the burden.

When Baggs got out to Nick Read (2-26) it was downhill all the way for Exmouth, who lost eight wickets for 31 runs.

Matt Hooper (3-36) shaded the bowling honours from Read and Charlie Hill (2-23).

Plymouth had a wobble at the start – Trevor Anning dispatching openers Callum Whittaker and James Toms – but were seen home by Doug Hewitt and Read in a stand of 96.

When Read fell caught and bowled to Lye for 23, Hewitt (84no) and Steve Luffman (12no) saw it through.

It’s Budleigh Salterton next for Plymouth, whose skipper Whittaker was delighted by the manner of the win.

“Exmouth had a good start but the boys Hooper, Hill, Read and Hewitt bowled really well in the middle,” said Whittaker.

“We knocked off the runs in good time and a major positive for me was to see the middle order fire.”

Alphington overwhelmed Axminster by 10 wickets to earn the mixed blessing of a game against Sidmouth in the next round.

Paul James (3-24) aided and abetted by James Knight (2-49) and Andy Wilson (2-12) bowled Axminster out for 148. After Paul Miller (40) and Rob Walker (37) put on 80 for the third wicket, Axminster had nothing much to come.

Simon Hare took the lead role as Alphington sped to victory in just 24 overs. Hare got to 50 in 29 balls and finished unbeaten on 88.

Dave Haysom played second fiddle at first – he wasn’t in single figures when Hare reached his 50 – but went on to make 55 not out.

Sandford ran out of steam on the chase at Paignton, where they were second best by 17 runs in a high-scoring affair.

Seb Benton stroked exactly 100 the got out as Paignton posted 253 for seven. He hit 11 fours and three sixes, but the real fireworks came from Mike Pedley in a quickfire 50.

Sandford spinner Simon Ashplant (0-69) was hit for a four and five sixes in the same over by Pedley, who noosed the total in a stand of 77 for the seventh wicket with Jason Woodcock.

Darryn Mortimore (67) and Russ Discombe (64) got the chase up and running; Toby Lochead (23) and Ryan Glass (26) kept it going, but George Benton (3-51) and Terry Farkins (3-45) turned the game in Paignton’s favour as Sandford were bowled out for 236.


Cornwood 126 (D K Boase 57, M Kidd 30; L Dixon 3-25, M Hague 4-30), Heathcoat 127-7 (P Randerson 26). Heathcoat bt Cornwood by 3 wkts.

Exeter 189 (G Lammonby 68, R Holman 46, C Bradley 4-29, R Bougourd 2-27, P Bradley 2-42), Bovey Tracey 191-5 (B Ayres 54no, P Bradley 56, Z Joseph 36, C Bradley 21no; J Tipper 3-32). Bovey Tracey bt Exeter by 5 wkts.

Axminster 148 (P Miller 40, W Walker 37; P James 3-24, J Knight 2-49, A Wilson 2-12), Alphington 150-0 (S Hare 88no, D Haysom 55no). Alphington bt Axminster by 10 wkts.

Budleigh Salterton v Torquay. Walkover for Budleigh as Torquay unable to raise a side.

Barton 103 (A Parker 49; M Cooke 3-28, W Gater 2-26, W Murray 2-27, N Gingell 2-20), Sidmouth 105-2 (A Griffiths 53no, N Hancock 36no). Sidmouth bt Barton by 8 wkts.

Exmouth 156 (R Baggs 59, B Huxtable 57; M Hooper 3-36, D Burke 2-29, C Hill 2-23), Plymouth 159-3 (D Hewitt 84no, N Read 23). Plymouth bt Exmouth by 7 wkts.

Axminster 148 (P Miller 40, R Walker 37; P James 3-24, J Knight 2-49, A Wilson 2-12), Alphington 150-0 (S Hare 88no, D Haysom 55no). Alphington bt Axminster by 10 wkts.

Paignton 253-7 (S Benton 100, M Pedley 50, R Cooper 31; R Discombe 2-39, D Mortimore 2-43). Sandford 236 (D Mortimore 67, R Discombe 64, R Glass 26, T Lochead 23; T Farkins 3-45, G Benton 3-51). Paignton bt Sandford by 17 runs.

Postponed: Bradninch v Plympton. Playing June 5.

Quarter-final draw: Bovey Tracey v Heathcoat, Plymouth v Paignton, Bradninch or Plympton v Budleigh Salterton, Alphington v Sidmouth. All ties to be played on Sunday, June 19.





DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2019    |    page edited by:    updated: 06/12/2012   |     login