Pyle and Simpson take Shobrooke to top of Exeter Evening League


SHOBROOKE Park top Division One of the Island Cricket Exeter T20 League after the first round of matches, following a comfortable seven-wicket victory at Thorverton.

Thors posted 136-3 from their 20 overs, with runs at the top of the order from openers Harry Choules (41) and Paul Fielder (44).

Kobi Griggs chipped in with 26no, whilst Andy Steer took 2-15 for the visitors.

Shobrooke knocked off the runs with ten balls to spare thanks to Dan Pyle (34), Chris Simpson (34) and Chris Ford (20), the only three wickets to fall before Andrew Codling saw the game home.

Exeter squeezed out visiting Clyst Hydon by just two runs in a tense finish.

The city side batted first and made 131-7 thanks largely to Sam Conway’s blistering 49, with support from Sean Morris (24).

Clyst’s Zain Ul-Abiddin with 2-41 was the pick of the visitors’ bowling.

In reply, Clyst looked on track with runs from Luandre Van Wyk (33), Dhanuja Haturusingha (24) and skipper Graham Trude (23).

Haturusingha and Trude both fell in the final two overs and Clyst came up just short. George Greenway took 2-28 and Simon Glenn 2-30 for Exeter.

Clyst St George began their Division Two campaign with a comfortable 25-run victory over Countess Wear.

Steve May anchored Clyst’s total of 133-6, with Owen Smith taking 2-23 for Wear.

In reply, the visitors had no answer to Clyst’s Mike Johnson (4-13) who ran through the top order before resistance from Par Singh (32) and James Bogue (40). Paul Laverick then clean bowled both of them, before Wear collapsed to 108 all out.

Exwick defeated Topsham St  James by 34 runs in a low scoring encounter at Bonfire Field.

Exwick’s 104-5 was built around 43 from opener Vic Murphy before Ross Pascoe’s 4-17 put the skids under Topsham, with only Nick Horne (24) and Ross Treleaven (15) making into double figures in a total of 70 all out.

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2022    |    page edited by:    updated: 06/06/2015   |     login