Clysy Hydon installed at top of table


Clyst Hydon moved to the top of the Island Cricket Exeter T20 league with a comfortable five-wicket victory at home to Exeter.

The visitors batted first and were restricted to 126-8 from their 20 overs, Clyst’s left-arm spinner Rumesh Batagodage did the damage with 5-30, although Exeter opener Alec Bosomworth carried his bat for a patient unbeaten 50.

Clyst set about the chase in a hurry, winning with four overs to spare thanks to Luandre Van Wyk’s 30no, with support from Dhanuja Haturusingha (23) and Mark Ashplant (21). Tschepo Legodi’s 2-15 was the pick of Exeter’s bowling.

Thorverton visited Shobrooke Park and edged out the hosts by seven runs in a close encounter.

Thors batted first and Kobi Griggs’ superb 97no - with support from Paul Fielder with 41 - saw them to 168-4 from 20 overs, Andy Steer taking a very respectable 2-21.

In reply, Shobrooke were never far off the pace, with all their batsmen making starts (Jon James 44, Andrew Codling 43, Dylan Blignaut 33 and Guy Hoskins 21no), but Jake Choules’ tidy 2-21 ensured they fell just short of the required target.

DCB Ltd, University of Exeter Sports Hall, Stocker Road, Exeter, Devon EX4 4QN Company Registration Number: 7024773

all content © Devon Cricket Board Ltd 2024    |    page edited by:    updated: 07/07/2015   |